Welcome to the website for the 39th Annual Symposium of the Microscopy Society of Ireland. As the symposium is now over, this website contains an archive of important information for delegates, including information on how to register, submit abstracts and the symposium programme. The 39th annual meeting in 2015 was held in the Materials and Surface Science Institute, University of Limerick.

Message from the Chair of the 39th Symposium

Microscopy is -and has always been- a cornerstone for the understanding and development and of materials, covered by the fields of physics, chemistry, biology, medicine and materials science. Imaging and spectroscopy techniques carried out via electron-, light-, scanned and X-ray microscopies have seen enormous developments in the past years, enabling revelations of micro-, electronic and chemical structure and dynamics of materials -organic and inorganic- down to the atomic scale.

The invited speakers for the MSI in Limerick offer a broad interdisciplinary view of current microscopies. The meeting is aimed to provide a fruitful interface for scientific exchange, interaction and debate amongst researchers from academia, R&D and industry. I encourage you herewith to come and welcome you to Limerick!

-Professor Ursel Bangert,
Department of Physics and Energy,
University of Limerick


The annual symposium encompasses areas of the life, physical, and instrumental sciences, and an equipment exhibition is held annually, featuring vendors of microscopy-related equipment.

Student participation in this symposium is highly encouraged. There is a monetary prize for the best student presentations under several categories. Historically, the symposium has provided an excellent forum for young researchers (particularly at postgraduate level) to present their data and findings at a conference. We will continue to foster this very strongly, as PhD students of very disparate backgrounds can engage in scientific debate.

Local Organising Committee

Prof. Ursel Bangert (Chair): Ursel.Bangert@ul.ie
Department of Physics and Energy and MSSI, The University of Limerick, Limerick

Dr. Yina Guo: Yina.Guo@ul.ie
MSSI, The University of Limerick, Limerick.

Mr. Eoghan O' Connell: 11125039@studentmail.ul.ie
Department of Physics and Energy, The University of Limerick, Limerick

Dr Andrew Stewart:
MSSI, The University of Limerick, Limerick

Local Committee

MSI 2015 email msi2015@ul.ie

Important Dates

  • 2015 Symposium
    26th -28th August 2015
  • Abstract submission
  • Deadline for online registration