Silver Sponsors

  • LVB
  • white
  • Hitachi
  • -->
  • Jeol
  • Andor
  • -->


The 40th annual symposium of the Microscopy Society of Ireland took place in the Dublin Institute of Technology from the 8th to the 10th of June. MSI would like to thank all sponsors, attendees and others who helped to facilitate this year's very successful meeting.


The annual symposium encompasses areas of the life, physical, and instrumental sciences, and an equipment exhibition is held annually, featuring vendors of microscopy-related equipment.

Student participation in this symposium is highly encouraged. There is a monetary prize for the best student presentations under several categories. Historically, the symposium has provided an excellent forum for young researchers (particularly at postgraduate level) to present their data and findings at a conference. We will continue to foster this very strongly, as PhD students of very disparate backgrounds can engage in scientific debate.

Local Organising Committee

Prof. Fiona Lyng (Chair):
DIT Centre for Radiation and Environmental Science (RESC)

Prof. Hugh Byrne:
FOCAS Research Institute

Dr. Suzanne Martin:
DIT Centre for Industrial and Engineering Optics (IEO)

Dr. Brendan Duffy:
Centre for Research in Engineering Surface Technology (CREST)

Dr. Gordon Chambers:
Nanolab Research Centre

Dr. Anne Shanahan:
FOCAS Research Institute

Dr. Luke O'Neill:
FOCAS Research Institute

Dr. Abigail Rooney:
FOCAS Research Institute

Mr. Damian Bruce:
FOCAS Research Institute

Bronze Sponsors

  • BioSciences
  • aquilant
  • ISS


Important Dates

  • 2016 Symposium
    8th-10th June 2016
  • Abstract submission
    Friday, 29th of April
  • Deadline for online early registration
    Friday, 27th of May